I am (pretty obviously) a coach in the sport psych world. It’s an interesting position to be in. On the one hand, I feel very fortunate to have this type of training to use with athletes. I truly believe that this will make me a much better coach than if I just tried to figure it out on my own. I also feel like it gives me a big leg up on the competition, but I may just be biased. On the other hand, there are times when I definitely feel intimidated and incompetent. Not having a psychology background and having no desire to continue on to a doctorate puts me in a different category: just a coach.

I’ve been battling with this phrase for a while now. I do not like when others use it: “Oh you just want to coach?” or “You just coach?” It implies that coaching is not valuable or viable on its own. I can see where they are coming from– especially from a financial standpoint– but it rubs me the wrong way. That bad feeling doesn’t last long, however. It is just their opinion based on the knowledge they have, and I am confident in my passion for coaching.

Or am I? I say I’m passionate, but I got called out the other day for apologizing for that passion. That can’t be good. But it’s true. I feel silly in class sometimes if I speak of coaching too highly. I worry in my head that I am not as respected for not wanting to go further in the field of Sport Psychology. This makes me more shy and timid in class as well. This whole time, I have felt like others didn’t see the value in my passion for coaching. As it turns out, it was all just me being insecure. Thank you Jim for pointing that out. I am now even more excited to start coaching and show what I’ve learned.

