Facebook has become one of the largest social networks in the world. In fact, it is rare these days to know someone who doesn’t have a facebook profile. There are many benefits for having facebook (finding your long lost friends, promoting your business, getting updates on the lates Hollywood stories, etc.). More and more companies and schools search for their perspective candidates on facebook and try to get a sense of who they are and make decisions accordingly.

 I was checking out facebook the other day and what I suddenly realized is, (aside from “this can be a great topic for my blog post!”) facebook is a great way to “assess” other people. The information someone posts on their profile may not be very accurate. It can be very misleading sometimes. When you just “friended” someone, what’s the first thing you do? You click on their profile and check out their pictures and personal information (workplace, education, and the whole nine yards). Oh, come on, don’t tell me you have never done this! As this process is happening, we are gathering information and forming a general idea on what this person is like. A friend of mine is a salsa dancing addict (in a healthy sense). When we first became facebook friends, I looked at some of her recent pictures. All I saw was her dancing salsa and smiling big time while doing it. So my conclusions were “she must really love dancing.”

So, I guess what I’m getting here is that facebook can be a great tool for getting to know someone (You can call it stalking, but everyone does it). Just make sure you are taking into consideration that this is not necessarily an accurate description of the person. Always, use with caution.

