Being a professional in sport and performance psychology consulting world is an art in itself. This was something that I learned very quickly when I first entered the MASPP Program at the University of Denver. I was fascinated by the fact that I have the freedom and possibility to be creative and design how I want to teach, educate, and present SPP materials. I found it to be very attractive and enticing; however, I did not realize the difficulties that come with this freedom, especially since I am not a very creative person.

Hands down, you have to be creative and innovative if you are going to go into the SPP consulting profession. As a consultant, you have to brand yourself with your own names, ideas, acronyms, activities, and presentations. Again, though it may sound appealing at first, I have found it to be more difficult with coming up with my ‘own stuff’. First, the SPP world is quite small and many ideas have already been taken or used. Second, you have to be unique in how you present your information. You have to have the ability to capture the audience; keep them engaged; make them crave for more; and bring you back. Third, you have to have a solid direction and purpose for ‘your stuff.’ Everything must flow, makes sense, and fit like a puzzle for you to be successful. These are just a few of the difficulties that stick out at me; however, there are so many other factors that underlie these topics.

Essentially, you have to be an artist to create your business as a SPP consultant. If you want to go into this profession, being creative and innovative is necessary. Yes, it is captivating and exciting, but remember that it is not easy and there is a lot of work required in order to be successful as a SPP consultant.

