Many of use have heard of TMI being shared in social situations, and most likely in professional settings. It is the unnecessary sharing of usually personal information that the audience to whom you are speaking deems inappropriate. Personally, I am able to understand, appreciate, and mostly abide by this social concept of not sharing TMI, but when it comes to sharing your experiential and academic knowledge (transfer of information), how much is too much, and how do you know? The businessperson inside of me (an unfortunately small portion), wants to share as little information with the client as possible, while still satisfying their original need. This of course would be so that they would have no more information than they absolutely needed so they could call me back in two weeks when another problem arises. The novice and helper in me (a far larger portion), wants to give the clients everything they could possibly need to tackle the problem from all angles, and to solve future similar issues. In this scenario I would teach them all I know, and possibly have very little new information if they were to call me on a second issue.

I believe what is most beneficial to the client in the long run, may also be the most profitable for me as well. This hardly seems believable, but when you take into consideration that it has taken me two years to learn about performance psychology, is it realistic, or beneficially for the client to try to learn all the techniques in one weekend seminar? I think not, and even further more I believe it is more ethically to spread out your work as much as possible, so that you may be able to provide more details on a given problem/project. When it comes to transfer of knowledge……avoid TMI.

