A recent experience has confirmed my beliefs that no matter how hard you try as a SPP consultant, not everyone is going to be interested or ‘buy’ into sport psychology. Though I will continue my role as a SPP consultant until my commitment is over, I have found it quite difficult to work with a group who is uninterested in my SPP services. As a young consultant this is the first time I have experienced no interest in what I do, but I know it is not uncommon and something I need to accept. I find this just to be another stepping stone for me as a growing SPP professional. Recently, I have come up with some possible recommendations for others and myself for how to handle uninterested clients.

First, I believe it’s important to remember the ‘thirds rule’ when work with any sort of team or group. One-third will 100% buy in to what you have to say as a SPP; another third will somewhat be interested; and the last third will not have any sort of interest no matter what. Second, I believe you should make the rest of the sessions fun, and if you are able to get across your point, great, but if not then at least they had a good time. Rather it’s through games, activities, or lectures, make sure to keep it interactive and amusing. Lastly, I think that having the team or group work together in pairs or small groups can increase the amount of participation, ideas, and thoughts. On the other hand, making sure the pairs and small groups are kept focus is necessary and may be another challenge within itself.

Keeping these potential recommendations in mind may help when working with a group that is not very interested in your SPP services. Though it may be difficult, it is possible to work through it. I believe the most important aspect is to know that you made a commitment and you should follow through with your commitment.

