In the Career Counseling class I am currently in, I recently received my results from the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI). My MBTI Profile evaluates me as an ESFJ type, which stands for: extraversion, sensing, feeling, and judging. Extraversions focus their attention on the outer world of people and things. Sensors take in information through the five senses and focus on the here and now. Feelers make decisions based primarily on values and on subjective evaluation of person-centered concerns. Judgers like a planned and organized approach to life and prefer to have things settled. I also received an ESFJ informational sheet that provides a brief personality description, possible blind spots and how to overcome, work-related strengths and weaknesses, criteria for career satisfaction, common occupations, and recommendations for the job search.

As I read over the ESFJ informational sheet, I am able to infer that I exhibit the personality type that would fit as sport and performance psychology consultant or an individual in private practice. The work-related strengths and weaknesses provide me with great insight into what I can do really well as an SPP consultant and what areas I really need to work on to be a successful SPP consultant. My strengths that I can really benefit from include: create friendly and harmonious relationships, taking a personal approach, hardworking and loyal, follow rules and regulations, and well organized and goal oriented. I believe these areas of strengths are important to remember as I begin my journey to becoming an SPP consultant. On the other hand, I also need to be self-aware of my weakness and work towards strengthening them. My weaknesses include: sensitive to criticism, become discouraged without praise, make decisions too quickly, opinionated, and restless if working alone. These weaknesses are very helpful in acknowledging what I can improve in the future as I enter into this career path.

I found my results from the MBTI to be very helpful and insightful, especially as an individual about to enter the ‘real world.’ I encourage others, if you have the resources, to take some sort of career assessment. Again, it can provide you with valuable and beneficial knowledge in moving forth with your career.

