Written by: Kevin McKague

I am approaching my eight-year anniversary of active duty service to my country while also completing my first year as a graduate student.  So, while I haven’t put on my uniform for several months and see the rest of my gear in the garage collecting dust, as Memorial Day approaches it means more every year.  This is where my paradox exists, in ‘celebrating’ Memorial Day.  Those of us who wear the uniform or have loved ones who wear it are all too familiar with the costs of war.  Just over 18 months ago, word came through that one of my classmates at West Point had been killed in an attack in Afghanistan.  CPT Drew Ross was a part of our strength and conditioning support team for the Army Baseball team.  He was with us every day in the weight room, working with our team, and several other teams, in their pursuit of championships.  Therein lies the conundrum of ‘enjoying’ my time on this observed holiday.

Memorial Day, without a global pandemic, usually signifies the opening of pools, golf tournaments, beach trips, air shows, cook outs and adult beverages.  I’ll be the first to say, I love each and every one of those things, but finding time to reflect on the sacrifices of the men and women who gave their lives so that I, and my family, may enjoy those things, has been integral to my acceptance in celebrating Memorial Day.  My two and four-year-old will grow up knowing that freedom isn’t free, and that their daddy has had the privilege of serving beside heroes.  They will know names like CPT Drew Ross, MAJ Thomas Kennedy, and MAJ Steve Reich and their stories.

MAJ Steve Reich was a standout Army Baseball player at West Point and played professionally with the Baltimore Orioles.  He was also a terrific leader and pilot who was killed in action during Operation Red Wings to save four Navy Seals in Afghanistan, which is the story behind Marcus Luttrell’s book “Lone Survivor.”  MAJ Reich and the rest of these warrior-athletes embody what is great about our nation and deserve to be recognized throughout this day.

So, my request of you this Memorial Day, is to celebrate (however that looks this year).  Take advantage of every freedom you have because many brave men and women laid down their lives to preserve those freedoms.  Please take a few minutes and reflect on their sacrifice, observe the reason behind this day, or read about a local hero who gave their life.  I think you’ll find you can cherish the day off a little more.

You can read this article about MAJ Steve Reich and the decision he made to put himself on his final mission instead of one of his junior officers.

https://www.military.com/special-operations/why-i-was-kicked-off-lone-survivor-rescue-team.html

Unknown