After writing about assessment on various areas, I would like to conclude by assessing myself as the last blog of the quarter.

We have all learned at this point of the program that self reflection and self awareness are essential for us in the field of psychology. I must say that this program has been a great journey and an amazing healing process for me. I never gave a thought about taking a closer look at my values, beliefs, and all the things that have made me who I am today. I truly believe that everything happens for a reason. And it had never occurred to me that s lot of them had been tucked away at a deep, dark place; a place that I never wanted to get close to. Why? Because it hurts so much to talk about them. It hurts so much to go through the pain. The truth is, I was so afraid to talk about my feelings, I have let them control me and control my relationships with others. But what I have realized since coming to DU is that being honest with yourself and others is essential to positive growth and, to human existence. The best thing to do is to face your issues and looking into the eye of the demon inside you and say “I will not let you control me.”

It has been a very challenging time for me in the past few months. It is challenging because I push myself to go to that scary place, to talk about what happened and how I lived through it. I get emotional very easily now. And there are times I just want to run away from everything so I can be “normal” again. BUT, I know the best way to go past it is to go through it. And I feel stronger than ever.