For my final blog, I decided to write about my experience blogging. At first, I wasn’t too excited about an assignment that seemed like busy work. Though it was sort of busy work, I got more out of it than I expected. I learned that I’m decently good at writing a blog quickly, which is helpful. I also got some ideas for when I’m a head coach for marketing my team/school.

College coaches are constantly looking for the edge to recruiting. The biggest issue I have seen in my limited experience is the lack of access athletes have to schools and vice versa. Except for big division 1 schools and possibly schools in certain regions, most athletes don’t know about most schools unless they stumble upon them. And for recruiters, I’m sure that talent is missed every year just because the student-athlete was not aware of their existence.

With blogging and other social media, information is much more easily accessible. In an age where Facebook and Twitter have nearly taken root in every household, schools and teams should be using this as a tool. If athletes can get a glimpse in to what life would be like as an athlete for that school, it might help them make better decisions on where to go. We’ll see when I find out where I’m coaching next year if this works!